Okay, sorry for the punny title but I couldn’t help it, I love puns! I’m up late playing around with new Interweb tools after spending most of the day laptopless (I reformatted, all by myself–Eric, didn’t think I had it in me, didja?

Time for a finished object!! It’s the Art Deco Beret by Grumperina, from the fall issue of Knitscene. The yarn is Sheep Shop 3. I have a few hints–it is much, much easier to knit from two balls. I tried to knit from the outside and the inside (you alternate knitting with the beaded and non-beaded strand) of one center pull ball and it was a massive tangle fest. Another tip–look for knots. The unexpected knot on your beaded strand will BUM YOU OUT. When I was about 2″ from finishing one ply finally gave out. I was at Eric’s and the crafty engineer whipped out an old guitar string for me to use as a big eye needle. After carefully restringing my beads I knit about one round and found A KNOT. Knot cool.

Anyhow, the yarn is gorgeous and I love the fit, I’d wear this as a snood but blocking it over a dinner plate definitely yielded a beret shape. It was a fun, addictive pattern with a very cool cast-on…tubular-ish but I’m not sure. I’ll have to investigate, it looks like it’d be great for socks. Now for tons of pictures!

My tribute to Emily (I think she’d like my golden mirror):

Over and OUT,

CR